top of page

The Chakras - Map of the Unconscious

"It was when I stopped searching for home within others and lifted the foundations of home within myself I found there were no roots more intimate than those between a mind and body that have decided to be whole.” - Rupi Kaur

We love to think that the unconscious mind is a great modern discovery. Not so! Only the term unconscious mind is new. The fact that there lays beneath the surface of conscious thought a realm far larger and more influential has been understood for a very long time.

Every myth you have ever heard that involved entering a cave, dropping to the bottom of the sea or a bottomless lake, journeying into the land of the dead, getting stuck in the belly of a whale and stories of dragons, demons, 3 headed dogs and even creation stories with land emerging from the deep, have all been referring to the murky territory we now call the unconscious mind.

All the techniques of mediation, yoga and other esoteric practices, in their original form and intent, have all been means of making the unconscious conscious. And they have been consistently successful at doing just that.

The snake is symbol of birth into spiritual life

In the process of developing these techniques, many different models have been created as teaching devices to help the student come to terms with forces that can not be directly observed.

One such model is the Chakras.

I can't go into detail about this here. I cover it in numerous courses I offer. And I will be covering it to a degree in the upcoming workshop "Tapping On Money Through the Chakras." (click here to learn more)

Missing from most of our modern renditions and new age posters is the snake, which is actually the most important part of the whole symbology.

The snake, an animal which sheds its skin and literally becomes a new creature, represents the rising of consciousness from the purely animal or instinctual into the spiritual realms.

  • The Lower 3: These map our instinctual tendencies, conditioning and karma, what we now refer to as unconscious

  • The Upper 3: These represent ever increasing conscious awareness and connection to our true source and nature

  • The Middle 1: The heart represents not only the crossover point or place of rebirth but the means by which our rebirth as a new creature is brought about. Love!

In the realm of the purely instinctual we are nothing more than animals. We have no more say in our lives than a dog or the snake.

  • 1st Chakra - Survival above all being the function at this level, the will of the group is paramount

  • 2nd Chakra - Individuality, the infantile "I am the center of the universe" energy of the child

  • 3rd Chakra - Identity, the "I" that resolves the inevitable conflict between the 1st and 2nd and creates the desire for status, recognition and position. This is what we now call the ego

Notice that each of these has a very different function than the others. Not only are they different, they are downright contradictory. And they are all unconscious. No one creates or controls these. This is the nature of life itself.

It is here in these 3 models of the unconscious where we find almost all of our traumas, wounds, karma and problems of all kind. To understand these, and end inner conflict with self-acceptance is the mission.

I hope you'll join me for the free workshop Tuesday January 18th at 2pm Eastern, 7pm UTC where I will explore this rich subject with a little more depth and give you some ways to heal those wounds and traumas and enjoy greater happiness, freedom and prosperity. (click here to register)


100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page